Skip to content

Top Ten Tuesday – Books in my Bag This Summer

0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×

toptentuesday(1)

I am once again joining The Broke and The Bookish’ Top Ten Tuesday.  This is a fun blog meme that provides a topic for a Top Ten list every Tuesday.  It is great for pre-planning posts too because she posts the upcoming topics weeks in advance!  Today’s topic is the Top Ten Books That Should Be/Will Be in Your Beach Bag this summer.  I don’t really have a “beach bag” since we don’t get to the beach very often.  But, I do have swim lessons and afternoon siestas and late night readings during the summer.  So, these are the top (not ten – sorry, but I had to cut it short at five to be realistic) books on my list for this summer’s reading (includes affiliate links):

The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction)
I started reading this for a book club a while ago (the book club meeting about it is long gone, but now I’m determined to finish it).  It is a long one though.  So far, I like it, but my sister said she didn’t like the second half of the book – which is long considering it is something like 700 pages long in total!  It will be something I read off and on for the whole summer, I’m sure.

Gilead: A Novel
This is another book club book.  I have to read it in the next week to make the deadline for the meeting, so I may review it next week, but at least it isn’t 700 pages!  I am reading this for a summer book club at my church and the description sounds like something I will really enjoy.  Especially this Slate review excerpt:  “Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson’s beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows “even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order”.

The Hope Quotient: Measure It. Raise It. You’ll Never Be the Same.
Not fiction, but I definitely feel like it will be good to put some hope in my life this summer.  Our church had a series of sermons on the book this past couple of months, but I missed most of them, so I’m looking forward to reading the book.  It seems like a very positive focus and that’s always good for summer!

Drop Dead Healthy: One Man’s Humble Quest for Bodily Perfection Another non-fiction book.  I love me some AJ Jacobs though.  I had almost forgot about this book.  When my daughter was in the hospital, his book, The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible made me laugh out loud.  And there wasn’t much that could do that at that point in time.  I also liked The Know-It-All: One Man’s Humble Quest to Become the Smartest Person in the World.  Not as much as The Year of Living Biblically, but close.  Drop Dead Healthy sounds right up my alley though!

Finally, I want to read Ender’s Game (The Ender Quintet) because I really should have read it when I was younger and I’ve heard I will love it.  And there is a character whose name is Bean, just like my daughter’s nickname.  I’ve started it, but I’m only about 30 pages in.  So, I really need to finish it up and then maybe I’ll see the movie!

Those are my five books to read this summer!  I realize these are not classic “summer” reads – fluff and romance and such.  But, since I haven’t been doing nearly enough reading, I’m starting with either book club books or things I really want to read rather than seasonally appropriate texts.  What about you?  What’s your top read for the summer months?

Published inUncategorized
0 Flares Twitter 0 Facebook 0 Filament.io 0 Flares ×