Motivational Mondays

Motivational Monday -First Week of Summer Plan

That’s right, summer is here!

summer-time-1405961228GHz

This first week of my summer break is sure to be full, though.  Today is Memorial Day and it is our first day of 100s in a while, so we’re probably staying inside for the most part.  I’m still cleaning and grading and grading and cleaning.

Tomorrow is the end-of-school-year field trip to a local park and I’m driving/chaperoning.  So, three hours will be taken up doing that.  I also have some clean up work I need to do at work, so I will go do that between field trip and pick up time (an hour and a half or so).  Wednesday, I scheduled the dog for a bath, flea treatment, etc. at Noon while DD is at school.  Thursday is the last day of school, so DD gets out at Noon and we’re having her friend over for a sleepover (we did one last year with her as well).  So, I’m trying to figure out what to do with them for 24 hours (Noon is early!).  We are thinking Round Table for dinner and probably some sprinklers since it is going to be hot, maybe a movie…we’ll see.  Friday, we leave for our mini-vacation to Monterey for our pre-hospital enjoyment.  Monday is pre-op in the morning and then Tuesday is pacemaker placement surgery.  Then, hospital for four to seven days (or so they say).

We went to the library yesterday and loaded up on books (I got three, DD got five and has already finished one).  We are also reading the Wizard of Oz together (and that should take a while) and we got the Barnes and Noble classics with five novels in it, so we may just continue on through the four other Oz novels after we finish the original.  I need to get the house clean and type up a list of things the house/pet-sitter needs to do before Friday.  I have filled in my summer calendar with the Dollar movie choices (lots that my DD would like to see), my trip to San Diego for my grant workshop (and DD will stay with my in-laws in Bakersfield, so we’ll drive down and maybe stay a couple of days after), some Michael’s craft workshops, two different art camps, one ice cream camp, one cooking camp, a camping trip with friends…so, we have a full summer planned already!  It is strange to be able to make summer plans because the past three or four summers I have been dealing with a sick parent and the need to be flexible.  This summer, I only have to worry about DD’s recovery, which should be relatively easy (fingers crossed).  It will prevent swim lessons until more towards the end of summer, but I might just go back to enrolling her during the Winter at our swim school to insure she knows how to swim safely by her 8th birthday and can maybe do summer swim team next year.  I will probably try to spend some weekends helping my sister with my parent’s house that she has been doing a ton of work on to get it ready for sale as well.

So, overall, I’m happy summer is here, I’m happy to have a plan and I’m looking forward to the next 10-12 weeks or so!

What about you?  Do you have summers off?  Are you planning anything fun and/or exciting?

Six Word Saturday

Six Word Saturday – Busy Weekend Edition

Joining up for a quick Six Word Saturday over at Show My Face.  Short, but sweet this week.

End of Spring 2016.  Summer begins!

Although I don’t feel like Summer officially begins until my DD gets out of school (Noon on Thursday), I am officially on Summer “break” (grading is still happening of course…I haven’t been THAT productive)!  This weekend has been super busy though.  We have my Father In Law visiting, Friday was my DD’s school carnival, tonight she has her Girl Scout Cookie Sale recognition and end-of-year celebration, tomorrow my Father In Law leaves and we might go to the fair tomorrow or Monday, and Tuesday is the end-of-year field trip to the park for my DD’s class.  Sigh…and all this while also trying to grade, grade, grade, clean up a dirty, cluttered house (which is what happens while I’m focused elsewhere for a few weeks) and keeping our lawn alive in the backyard.  I got some free sod off of Craig’s List and filled in the rest with some Weed and Seed and we’re trying to get it to grow so we’ll have a lawn this summer instead of dirt with some grass growing hear and there (we killed it a couple of years ago with one of those big pools, so it is our own fault).  My DH has been getting up early almost every morning to go and fish or shoot targets with friends, so I haven’t been able to get much sleeping in done (not that I am really a person who sleeps in much anyways) and I’m pretty exhausted.  But, I’m feeling like I’m getting things accomplished and that means a lot to me at this point.  I am looking forward to a summer of reading, rest and redoing my Argumentation and Debate class for the grant I received in the Spring semester (a year-long redo with tech and supplemental instruction and all kinds of exciting stuff).  So, I’ve got a great summer ahead!

Tuesday Top Ten

Top Ten Tuesday – Books in my Bag This Summer

toptentuesday(1)

I am once again joining The Broke and The Bookish’ Top Ten Tuesday.  This is a fun blog meme that provides a topic for a Top Ten list every Tuesday.  It is great for pre-planning posts too because she posts the upcoming topics weeks in advance!  Today’s topic is the Top Ten Books That Should Be/Will Be in Your Beach Bag this summer.  I don’t really have a “beach bag” since we don’t get to the beach very often.  But, I do have swim lessons and afternoon siestas and late night readings during the summer.  So, these are the top (not ten – sorry, but I had to cut it short at five to be realistic) books on my list for this summer’s reading (includes affiliate links):

The Goldfinch: A Novel (Pulitzer Prize for Fiction)
I started reading this for a book club a while ago (the book club meeting about it is long gone, but now I’m determined to finish it).  It is a long one though.  So far, I like it, but my sister said she didn’t like the second half of the book – which is long considering it is something like 700 pages long in total!  It will be something I read off and on for the whole summer, I’m sure.

Gilead: A Novel
This is another book club book.  I have to read it in the next week to make the deadline for the meeting, so I may review it next week, but at least it isn’t 700 pages!  I am reading this for a summer book club at my church and the description sounds like something I will really enjoy.  Especially this Slate review excerpt:  “Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson’s beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows “even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order”.

The Hope Quotient: Measure It. Raise It. You’ll Never Be the Same.
Not fiction, but I definitely feel like it will be good to put some hope in my life this summer.  Our church had a series of sermons on the book this past couple of months, but I missed most of them, so I’m looking forward to reading the book.  It seems like a very positive focus and that’s always good for summer!

Drop Dead Healthy: One Man’s Humble Quest for Bodily Perfection Another non-fiction book.  I love me some AJ Jacobs though.  I had almost forgot about this book.  When my daughter was in the hospital, his book, The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible made me laugh out loud.  And there wasn’t much that could do that at that point in time.  I also liked The Know-It-All: One Man’s Humble Quest to Become the Smartest Person in the World.  Not as much as The Year of Living Biblically, but close.  Drop Dead Healthy sounds right up my alley though!

Finally, I want to read Ender’s Game (The Ender Quintet) because I really should have read it when I was younger and I’ve heard I will love it.  And there is a character whose name is Bean, just like my daughter’s nickname.  I’ve started it, but I’m only about 30 pages in.  So, I really need to finish it up and then maybe I’ll see the movie!

Those are my five books to read this summer!  I realize these are not classic “summer” reads – fluff and romance and such.  But, since I haven’t been doing nearly enough reading, I’m starting with either book club books or things I really want to read rather than seasonally appropriate texts.  What about you?  What’s your top read for the summer months?

Thursday Thumbs Up

Thumbs Up Thursday – Summer Edition

thumbs-up

Welcome to Thumbs Up Thursday…I finished at one of my jobs for Spring semester today and only have a couple of weeks left at my other job and then its official:  “School’s out for SUMMER!”  So, I thought I would dedicate this Thumbs Up Thursday to summer.

First Thumbs Up goes to spray on sunscreen!

spray on sunscreen

And when I think about it, it is strange that I would pick this because Bean won’t let me actually spray it on her, so I have to spray it on my hand and then put it on her (which is probably safer than spraying it at her).  So, it really isn’t any different than the lotion stuff usage-wise, but for some reason I just like it a lot better.  First off, it doesn’t seem to be nearly as messy as lotion.  And second, it is nice and cool when you spray it, unlike the lotion that gets hot on sunny days in my bag.  Finally, it just seems cooler to me.  So, there ya go.

With the 90 degree weather we’ve been having for the past few days we’ve definitely busted out the sunscreen early this year!

Lipton Iced Tea Bags 

lipton_tea_bags_1

It is the simple things in life right?  These babies save me a ton of money each and every day.  We make multiple pitchers in a day usually and if we had to buy iced teas out all the time, we would go broke just drinking iced teas!

Dakaro Sangiovese Wine

2012 Dakaro Sangiovese

I tried this last night at our local wine bar, “Wine Time” and I loved it!  And it is really reasonably priced.  Definitely will be drinking it again!

There is a lot right now that I would give a thumbs down to (its been one of THOSE days), but I will hold on to the positives and leave it at that!

What would you give a thumbs up to today?